Rock the Casa

cute stuff, fresh ideas, and style inspirations on the daily

On my plate

Posted by Beth on August 7, 2009

In my small apartment kitchen, counterspace is practically nonexistant, which makes whipping up major meals a bit of a challenge. So, when I do cook, I tend to make enough for an army, and then eat the leftovers for the rest of the week (or until my tastebuds cry uncle). In the fall and winter months, I’m a major soup-aholic. But come summer, in an apt. without central air, hot liquids are out, and grilled chicken is in. Last night I seasoned up an entire package of thin chicken cutlets with salt, pepper, garlic powder, and a spritz of olive oil, threw them on my grill pan, and finished them off with a squeeze of lemon. I also cooked up a cup of quinoa—my favorite grain. It’s like a nutty-flavored, more healthful version of couscous. I first cooked this grain last year after I bought Martha Stewart’s amazing cookbook Everyday Food and was tempted by this yummy quinoa, spinach, and shiitake salad with feta cheese. It’s a bit of work, but soooo good. Now I regularly make my own variations on the salad, subbing in different vegetables and dressings depending on what’s in season. Since zucchini and corn were plentiful at my veggie market, I sauteed them up in a bit of olive oil (I steamed the corn first and cut the kernels off the cob), threw in some fresh basil, and then added about half of the cooked quinoa. I tossed it all with a bit of lemon parmesan vinaigrette—another Martha favorite. I also steamed up some fresh broccoli in the microwave. Here’s what my dinner looked like:

IMG_1920

The best part? Leftovers. I made a broccoli and cheese omelet for breakfast this morning, and have plenty of extra chicken that I plan to throw on top of a salad for lunch. Dinner might be a stir fry over a bed of the plain quinoa I have waiting in my fridge.

One Response to “On my plate”

  1. Lisa Galante said

    I’ve been wanting to try out this quinoa. This looks like a yummy recipe to try it out!

Leave a Reply

 
